Queen Imogene Sorensen

1937's Queen of the May, Imogene Sorensen was crowned by her consort, Fred Walker.

<< Back Index Next>>

Mendon Utah Logo

Mendon May Day— 1937Mendon May Queen Imogene Sorensen and Her 1937 Court.

Mendon Plans Its Annual May Day Festival Saturday— Mendon’s annual May Day celebration, to be held Saturday, May 22nd promises to be one of the best ever conducted by the town since the early settlers started the affair as a means of entertaining friends of northern Utah and southern Idaho. Committees have been spending every effort that Saturday’s celebration may be successful in every detail. The day’s festivities will commence at 10:00 a.m. with the superintendency of the Mendon Sunday school and the South Cache Band marching to the home of the Imogene Sorensen, and escorting her to the public square where she will be crowned by Fred Walker, acting as Prince Consort. Along with the coronation ceremonies, twenty-two small girls will perform the maypole dance. Immediately after the crowning a public meeting will be held in the ward chapel, with an entertaining program given under the direction of Claud A. Sorensen. A band concert will be held at 1:00 p.m. by the South Cache High School Band under the baton of William H. Terry. This band made a fine record and placed high in the recent band contest held at Price, Utah. Following the concert will be a children’s dance at 2:00 p.m. and at 3:00 p.m. a track meet will be conducted by Durrell Hughes, Joseph Larsen and Zeno Andersen, along with various children’s sports. All seventh and eighth grade pupils of the county schools are eligible to enter the track events. Awards will be given to first, second and third place winners. The celebration will be closed with a big dance commencing at 9:00 p.m. in the ward hall. Mendon has issued an invitation to the people of Logan and all settlements of the valley to attend the celebration.

1937 Court Members— Darlene Bird, Joseph B. Richards, Shirley Stauffer, Grant Bartlett, Queen Imogene Sorensen, Consort Fred Walker, Cleone Longstroth, Robert Welch, Louise Hardman and Douglas Shelton.